An Open Letter to My Parents

I’m writing this because I miss you both just a little extra today. I realize that when I’m home I may hibernate in my room and hardly converse with you or when I’m at school I may forget to call for a week or two, but please don’t think anything of that. I’m young and I make mistakes and sometimes my priorities get skewed. But then I always have y’all to come back to. You two keep me sane and remind me of what is truly important.

Thank you for being the best parents I could ever ask for. I know you’re human and I know you make mistakes but trust me, even when I didn’t show it, I knew you two always just wanted what was best for me. Thank you for always being by my side. Thank you for being my shoulder to cry on and my biggest fans. You two made me feel so loved when I was at a point where I didn’t even love myself. You made it known that I was valued and that I was cared about no matter what, regardless of the circumstances, I knew and I still know that I will always have you two.

So if you ever doubt yourselves on anything, know that you did a damn good job raising me, and I can never thank you enough for being the world’s best role models, supporters, financial providers, life advice givers, and friends a kid could ask for.

Mom, thank you for showing me what it means to show love to anyone and everyone, no matter what. Thank you for being an example of how I should live out my life and how to keep focus on Christ. Thank you for always reminding me of the importance of family (especially when you would be the peacekeeper between dad and I). Thank you for being willing to loosen the reigns so I could figure out who I was, but always making it known that I can come home any time. Thank you for offering to make me soup and drive all the way down to Bowling Green just for the day because I said i felt sick. Thank you for setting the expectations extremely high for what a woman should be (how will I ever love someone as much as I love you?). thank you for everything.

Dad, thank you for showing me what it means to truly love a woman more than anything else in the world (other than maybe your kids). Thank you for teaching me how to always treat women (and men too, but especially women) with respect and to let them know that they have worth. Thank you for trying your hardest to teach me basic mechanical skills and the most elementary of auto care skills (even though T still rarely check my oil like you tell me to). Thank you for always letting me have my own beliefs and morals, but challenging me to understand why I believe the things I do. Thank you for instilling confidence in me since I was young and for teaching me that I can do anything I set my mind to. But also thank you for letting me know when I was being arrogant, because confidence is good, but only in moderation. Thank you for everything.

I love you both with my whole heart, and I hope you both know this even when I don’t show it.

One thought on “An Open Letter to My Parents

Leave a Reply

