Yes Please

Amy Poehler strikes again. In addition to her belly-laugh worthy comedy on SNL and Parks and Rec, Poehler created a window into her past, present, and future (time travel is real!) Never before have I been so intrigued by a single person’s life. She is so spontaneous but shy at the same time. She loves her kids more than anything and came across as so genuine (granted, it’s not hard to make yourself sound good on paper – I believe it, though).

Similar to other memoirs I have read, some of the stories contained were quite funny while others covered more serious topics. I appreciate greatly that women like Poehler that are known for their goofy side have a chance to express what they are truly passionate about and be real for a little while. It was a nice change of pace from the comedic expertise throughout the book. Speaking of the comedy, I feel I must mention, none of it was that ‘tears running down your face, stomach hurts from laughing, out of breath, seal noise’ type of humor. It was more of a ‘breath more loudly out of your nose’ or a slight chuckle kind of humor. And that’s perfectly okay with me! It means I didn’t have to worry about looking like that crazy person in the coffee shop who laughs at themselves uncontrollably for no apparent reason. Rather, I looked as though I could have been a college student studying philosophy or reading a literary classic. Despite the fact that I was in no way reading Mark Twain or Socrates, I like to think that I looked the part.

Another part of the book I really enjoyed was at the end when Poelher began to talk about her children. Her family was mentioned intermittently, but one of the closing chapters explained in much more detail the relationship she has with her kids. I think its beautiful to hear about the love a parent has for their child. Hearing the stories of the times she has spent with her children doing whatever it is they do made my heart happy.

While it was not my favorite book I have ever read, I definitely do not regret it at all. It was a nice relief from the stress of my days and was easy to just read a chapter or two at a time. I would rate the book at a solid 7/10 and hope that my friends will listen to my recommendations and read it.

Leave a Reply

