There is More

As I sit outside my favorite coffee shop, I can’t help but think of the beauty of the life I am living. I can’t help but think of the awesome God that I serve and the grace I have received from Him. It is truly amazing to step back and look at how much He is working in my life every single day. Everything going on in life right now seems to take precedence over my relationship with Christ because my faith feels stagnant a lot of the time. But I am slowly coming to the realization that growth requires effort. Growth requires that I have an active role in my faith. Relationships run two ways, and God is always there waiting for me to start the conversation.

One thing I’ve especially noticed is how important it is to allow God in to my everyday life. God is so much larger than mass on Sundays. God is so much more awesome than any prayer or devotional I can say or read. God is so much more eloquent than any words I can put onto a page. God is so much more complex than anything I can fathom. God is infinite and all loving and all powerful. Letting that sort of joy and love into my everyday life is crucial to my happiness and my compassion and my fulfillment. Just sitting back and trying to comprehend all of the grace and contentment God has presented me with brought literal tears into my eyes just now.

I also believe that God presents Himself in so many different ways to each person. I see God in nature around me. I see Him in the blue skies and puffy white clouds. I feel His presence in the wind as it blows. I hear His voice in the chirping of birds or the rustling of the leaves. I see God in the people who surround me. I hear God’s voice when a little kid laughs at nothing. I see His love when friends embrace. God is everywhere. God is seeking you and wants you to come home to Him.

Don’t get me wrong, this feeling of content and love comes and goes. I struggle with my faith all the time, and I don’t pretend to be a perfect Christian or have anything at all figured out. But what I do know is that even when I stray, God will always welcome me back. I will constantly seek to further my relationship with Christ and keep firm faith and hope that there is more.

Leave a Reply

