Perks of Being a Wallflower

Thank you so much, Stephen Chbosky, for bringing this book into existence. Perks is so authentic and raw and intimate and beautiful. No other book brings about more emotions than this one. And there is no emotion untouched. It makes me feel all the things. I don’t really know how to do the book justice with anything I write, so I will just leave you with my favorite quotes from the book, some you will have probably heard, some probably not.

“There’s nothing like the deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons.”

“I am both happy and sad at the same time, and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

“But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”

“It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.”

“Enjoy it. Because it’s happening.”

“I started crying and smiling at the same time. […] I was crying because I was suddenly ver aware of the fact that it was me standing up in that tunnel with the wind over my face. […] And I was really there.”

“it was so nice to be with my mom and eat french fries.”

And finally, my favorite quote from the book, and one that I think about quite regularly:

“please believe that things are good with me, and even when they’re not, they will be soon enough. And i will always believe the same about you.”

 

Leave a Reply

